VPN Reviews

StrongVPN Review – A Great VPN Service At A Great Price

By
Tuesday, March 20th, 2012


Strong VPN is one of the oldest VPN service providers out there. The service is brought to you by ReliableHosting which started its operations as a small company selling computers in South Lake Tahoe area, way back in 1994. Over the last few years, the company has significantly expanded its operations and it now offers full fledged hosting solutions that include dedicated hosting, VPN services and collocation services. In this StrongVPN review, we look at its features and whether the service is worth the money.

Choice of Locations

StrongVPN has over 300 servers spread across 20 countries around the world. The list of countries include popular choices such as USA, Canada, UK, many European countries as well as some offbeat locations such as Luxembourg and Malaysia. This makes StrongVPN a very good choice for accessing local content and blocked websites from all corners of the world.

StrongVPN Speed

The StrongVPN services scores a very high score as far as browsing speeds are concerned. By accessing a server located near your location, you can expect great upload, download and streaming speeds. Of course the exact speed would depend on your location, hardware and internet connection but you can rest assured that you would be getting best possible browsing speeds through StrongVPN service.

Accessing Blocked Websites

StrongVPN provides an excellent way to access blocked websites such as Facebook, Hulu or bypass government tracking services. The strong security features that come with a StrongVPN service would ensure that you can access blocked websites without your administrator knowing about your browsing activities.

Supported Systems

StrongVPN supports a wide variety of computer systems, protocols, routers and mobile devices such as smartphones and tablets. The installation supports OpenVPN and PPTP protocols which are most popular connection protocols. The service works great equally on Windows, Mac and Linux systems as well as most mobile devices.

Installation

StrongVPN recommends using OpenVPN installation kit for using its services. After installing OpenVPN, you need to copy StrongVPN configuration files to OpenVPN installation folder manually. While this makes installation more cumbersome, it is great for people who know how to manage their VPN connection.

StrongVPN allows you to change up to 5 servers within a month. Changing servers is as easy as selecting a different server from StrongVPN admin area and then copying the new configuration file to OpenVPN installation folder. If you need to switch more than 5 servers within a month then you need to pay extra depending on the number of switches you need.

Privacy Policy

StrongVPN uses 128 bit blowfish encryption to encrypt data. While the encryption is considered less secure than advanced encryption standard, it is adequate to protect your personal and financial details from prying eyes.

Customer Support

StrongVPN offers excellent customer support through live chat and email. You can expect to get replies for your technical questions within the same day.

Pricing Policies

The StrongVPN services start from $7 per month for PPTP protocol and $10 per month for OpenVPN protocol. You can also access both the protocols by paying starting $30 per month. You need to pay more if you want to switch more than 5 servers in a month. Of course you can save money by subscribing to long term plans. There is also a 7 day money back guarantee that allows you to test different aspects of the service without any long term commitment.

Final Verdict

StrongVPN offers a great VPN service at affordable price. While it doesn’t provide automated installation and allows only 5 server switches per month, it is a great service for people looking for a fast, secure and versatile VPN service.

To find out more how StrongVPN can help you, please visit their website: strongvpn.com


March 20, 2012
Comments
  1. vpn service review said on April 3, 2015 7:19 pm:

    It’s in point of fact a great and helpful piece of information. I am glad that you just shared this
    useful info with us. Please stay us up to date like this.
    Thank you for sharing.

  2. Roger Walker said on February 20, 2014 11:11 am:

    sorry to say, but this review is about 2 years old. i got there special account with them, which works great btw. the free switches are 15+3 now per month. found strongvpn by research and are very happy to have. want miss that at all.

  3. Kenny said on July 2, 2012 6:31 pm:

    This is definitely a great vpn to use, worth the try if you have a chance or are considering to change vpns. I switched over to StrongVPN about 3 months ago after reading some of these reviews, and feel that it’s definitely what it says it is. No weird situations, no false adverts, just a great VPN that works as it should.

  4. Alec said on June 19, 2012 6:31 pm:

    I just had an awful experience with using wifi, which is why I came to this site to order strongVPN. Had a bunch of my friends telling me how awesome this is, and I truly believe it. Forget about getting all these viruses and everything. Strong VPN is the way to go!

  5. Tibbs said on June 4, 2012 10:47 am:

    The customer service is great. My fiance and I are not very good at this tech stuff, so I had Derrick help us out with getting set up. Great experience, and the performance is definitely top notch.

  6. Courtney R. said on May 21, 2012 3:22 pm:

    Service, speed, everything is just top service. I really like strongvpn, definitely a great choice.

  7. milos said on April 23, 2012 3:46 pm:

    Very nice, I like the fast service.

  8. Jacki W. said on April 14, 2012 8:37 am:

    It is worth looking into. I talked to my boyfriend overseas, I’m so happy!!!

  9. Edison M. said on March 9, 2012 7:36 pm:

    StrongVPN definitely holds up to its name. I like to use this service quite a bit, and it’s very reliable!

  10. Jamie said on February 21, 2012 2:21 am:

    Iuse this to access sites I may need when I am located in foreign countries. Definitely a cool product to use (I am from the US, but work in Asia a lot)

  11. Claude R. said on February 5, 2012 12:17 pm:

    Strong VPN definitely maintains it’s speed, and I am thankful for it since I can now watch videos on HULU! Great way to cut the bill $**$

  12. Rupa J. said on January 2, 2012 12:24 pm:

    Can access the contant from India. Love to see sites and what else is offered. Well worth the cost.

  13. William D. said on December 21, 2011 1:51 am:

    The mates and I love accessing american tv from the UK. Strong VPN is a great product to use if you need vpn.

  14. jamshek gupta said on December 3, 2011 7:56 pm:

    Am back to playing games again! I definitely recommend the service.

  15. Alex W. said on November 27, 2011 2:20 pm:

    I think the service is really good with strong vpn. I have not had any problems so far and I’m living abroad accessing content from the US. Not sure about the others, but would recommend this to a friend.

  16. toby said on November 19, 2011 7:21 pm:

    This speed is slow, looking to check out HMA when my subscription ends :/

  17. Rick S. said on October 22, 2011 6:23 pm:

    Limited servers, but the fast customer service has been really helpful with strongvpn. It’s definitely worth looking into.

  18. Daniel B. said on October 19, 2011 11:39 am:

    Have been trouble accessing facebook overseas. not sure if this is temporary, but hopefully, that will all change soon. Anyone have any idea on how to fix this?

  19. dustin burke said on October 13, 2011 11:13 pm:

    service is great, but support could be better. there was a girl kristen who was just a bit incompetent that day. maybe an intern or something? first day, perhaps.

  20. Tony James said on October 12, 2011 10:04 am:

    Since I’m living in France now I use it to access content from overseas. Very useful tool for work, but i also like to use it to watch movies since I’m from the US 😛

  21. Tracy Chen said on September 29, 2011 2:23 pm:

    StrongVPN seems to be pretty reasonable. This is my first time using the service, but I would be willing to change if there is a lower price. Not sure if there’s really any difference with the other places.

  22. toasta said on August 29, 2011 6:21 pm:

    StrongVPN has a live chat link to talk with an agent on which services to order based on needs, I think that’s different compared to other services. Was very impressed, especially with the flexibility. Thanks you guys!

  23. ozzie said on August 11, 2011 8:42 am:

    This thing used to work with Amazon vids, but not so sure anymore. I guess streaky performance?

  24. Karen Y. said on August 2, 2011 6:37 am:

    I got the package deal after a friend suggested I check this site out. I think it’s definitely worth it over all the hassle of having to use other sites to access content. StrongVPN is definitely a great service to use.

  25. Ronald said on May 21, 2011 2:28 pm:

    All around grate! I would recommand strong vpn to my friends and family. I rally loved the customer service. Was real fast and liked the experience.

  26. candy tang said on May 17, 2011 9:25 pm:

    I like the strongvpn, it’s very good! ^^

  27. Taylor M. said on May 13, 2011 5:23 pm:

    Customer service for StrongVPN is great! They have a 24/7 help and they help are real people! Aside from the fact that it offers so many more features than most, I felt that this experience was very memorable. Keeping customers is key in any type of organization, and they definitely made me feel valued.

  28. Miguel said on May 2, 2011 12:19 am:

    I like the Strong VPN. The ordering process was very good and same is customer service.

  29. Cory J. said on April 29, 2011 11:17 am:

    Great customer service experience with Strong VPN. They were very helpful and were there to answer my questions. Very surprised at how all this works and how painless it really is!

  30. Jan D. said on April 20, 2011 12:14 am:

    The only delay I experienced with strongvpn was the verification process! This thing kicks ass, has not let me down when I try to access and stream content. Very satisfied with the results and will use it again. If you are frustrated with regional blockage, I definitely recommend this one!

  31. Eddie C. said on April 14, 2011 12:09 am:

    Great service, thanks StrongVPN!

  32. Jonathan said on March 20, 2011 1:05 pm:

    Really enjoy this service. It has excellent customer service and is really intuitive. I would wholeheartedly recommend this service. It has come in handy while I am based in China for a year!

  33. Barry Smith said on March 9, 2011 8:59 am:

    the price is a little on the high side with strongvpn, but i must say that the speeds have been exceptional. not really in the mood to try others since it does the job even if it’s a few bux higher.

  34. Gary K. said on February 27, 2011 8:00 am:

    really great service for a really cheap price. strongvpn is definitely the way to go!

  35. Chang L. said on January 25, 2011 3:08 pm:

    Had my account compromised a few years ago due to viruses and hackers. StrongVPN allows you to protect yourself. It’s definitely a product worth considering as the fee is so miniscule compared to not having to worry about these types of problems. Will use again!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


5 + 2 =