VPN Reviews

HideMyAss Review – One of the Best VPN Services (updated on June 2015)

By
Thursday, March 15th, 2012


Hide My Ass (or simply “HMA”) is one of the most popular VPN service providers available. The company is known for providing affordable VPN services that allow you to surf anonymously and access blocked websites without revealing your true IP address. In this HideMyAss review, we take a look at its features and decide whether the service is worth the money.

Easy to Use VPN

HideMyAss has its own proprietary software, which is pretty unusual. Once you buy their service, you just need to download and install it on your computer and you can access all the HMA features at the click of a button. This makes HideMyAss extremely easy to use even for those who are not tech savvy.

HMA Choice of Locations

Even though the HMA Company is based in UK, they have their servers located in 75 different countries. This makes HideMyAss a truly global VPN service provider and allows you to access a server near your location for best possible internet speeds. With over 116,982 IP addresses at their disposal, HMA ensures that you get best speeds and access to local content and blocked websites no matter wherever you are located in the world. You can also change your IP address easily if you need to access local content for any other country.

hma-server-locations (1)

North America is HMA’s largest server cluster, and the company operates 868 servers and 116,982 IP addresses for its clientele. This is clearly one of the largest offering in the industry today, and helps to ensure that you can actually log on and with consistent speed. In addition to the USA, HMA offers servers in the following countries: United States (USA), United Kingdom (UK), Netherlands, Aland Islands, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Estonia, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Moldova, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Israel, Jordan, Japan, Kuwait, Malaysia, Philippines, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Vietnam, Australia, New Zealand, Costa Rica, Pananama, Mexico, Argentina, Brasil, Chile, Colombia, Uruguay, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Morocco, Nigeria, South Africa, and Uganda.

Hidemyass Server Speed

HideMyAss ranks among the best VPN service providers as far as speed is concerned. While the exact speed would depend on your hardware, internet connection and location, you can expect to get best speeds when accessing internet through HMA VPN service.

Hotspot Protection

HMA allows you to encrypt your data with 128 bit encryption through Open VPN protocol. This is way better than public hotspots where the data is often transferred without any protection. This makes HMA connection extremely secure and prevents hackers from getting access to your personal and financial details.

Accessing Blocked Sites

HMA makes it extremely easy to access blocked websites. So even if you are behind a network that blocks access to popular sites such as Facebook or Hulu or popular gaming servers, you can unblock them easily by using HideMyAss service. Its secure encryption will make sure that the administrators of your network are not able to find out about the sites that you are accessing. You also have the option to bind certain applications, such as torrent clients, with VPN connection so that they can access internet only when the HMA’s VPN connection is enabled.

Streaming Capability

A lot of VPN providers do not provide good streaming speeds but with HideMyAss VPN connection, those problems are a thing of the past. With HMA’s VPN services, you can not only unblock Hulu but also stream high definition content. Of course you need to have a good internet connection and access streaming sites with local US or UK servers to get the best streaming speeds.

HMA Compatibility

HideMyAss VPN services support a wide variety of protocols, routers, computers and mobile devices. You can use HMA with protocols such as OpenVPN, PPTP and L2TP and also have the option of grouping servers together and choose a server that supports the right protocol for your country. You need access to a Windows, Linux, Mac system to run the HMA client. You can also access HMA on mobile phones and tablets through a free Android app though you cannot run the client on mobile devices.

HideMyAss Privacy

HideMyAss doesn’t monitor or maintain a log of sites that you access. The only thing that they record is the time for which you are connected to the internet through their services.

Customer Support

HideMyAss provides excellent customer support through live chat, email and access to their forum. It is recommended to check their forum first if you are facing a problem since a lot of common problems are already listed there. For more serious problem, you can contact the customer support through 12-hour live chat system or email.

Price Affordability

HMA membership is quite affordable. You can get a monthly membership for as little as $9.99 while you can save up to 50% by subscribing for a year and using their promotional code. There is also a 30 day unconditional money back guarantee so you can test the services as much as you like without worrying about paying the next installment.

hma-pricing (1)

Final Verdict

To conclude, HideMyAss is one of the best VPN services out there. It is fast, easy to use, versatile and is quite affordable which makes it worth the money that you spend on it. To find out if HMA is the right service for you, please visit their website at: www.hidemyass.com.


March 15, 2012
Comments
  1. Flado said on March 31, 2013 8:37 pm:

    Internet Provider : TELKOMSEL from Indonesia blocked anyone to access website http://www.hidemyass.com for pornography reason

  2. Drew said on December 28, 2012 8:25 am:

    If this is not the best VPN service provider, it is clearly at the top. I had some questions about signing up, and the customer service was outstanding. I’m a novice at using VPNs, and I’ve really enjoyed using this service.

  3. Danimal said on June 17, 2012 9:57 pm:

    Works great on my device. Have tested the servers in multiple countries (US, Amsterdam, Thailand, Korea), and can definitely say that the service works great wherever I have traveled. Definitely great to use especially since I’ve discovered PPTS! 😛

  4. Chelsea D. said on April 30, 2012 4:21 pm:

    I had a little bit of trouble for set up, but got it going relatively easy. After that, I was using HMA to access the Internet. Definitely like the results so far, and suggest it to users.

  5. Sam P. said on April 13, 2012 10:41 am:

    I totally use HMA to let me watch all my movies from the US. It’s totally convenient and easy to use. Peace out regional lock!

  6. percy o. said on March 29, 2012 5:50 pm:

    There are so many dumb rules that apply to the region lock, HMA allows you to get rid of that BS. Try it out and you’ll be hooked.

  7. conner said on March 18, 2012 9:47 pm:

    Have not experienced any issue so far and really like the results that I am getting with this.

  8. Ewing said on March 9, 2012 2:05 pm:

    It’s because Hide my ass really allows you to hide your ass! haha, definitely think this is a great site with great support. Have not experienced any issues so far. Will continue to use after my 6 month subscription.

  9. Veronica T. said on February 27, 2012 7:01 pm:

    Aside from the name “hide my ass” I really like this VPN. The only issue is when my friends ask me how I access web apps like facebook and I have to say which vpn I’m using 😛

  10. cap'n ron said on February 4, 2012 12:59 am:

    This is very interesting since I’ve been using hide my ass for quite a while and have never experienced any problems. i am definitely a pirate and having tons of downloads.

  11. Kai said on January 15, 2012 5:31 pm:

    Well said Erik, I couldn’t agree more. I think when you have an idea of the rules that VPN brings, you will definitely appreciate HMA. Also, given the qualities and ease of use with video streaming, is downloading something really that necessary?

  12. Erik G. said on January 4, 2012 6:53 am:

    Let’s get something clear here. This is to set up access in certain parts of the region, not to do stuff that may be considered illegal.

    This is considered illegal: downloading a full movie bc it takes up bandwidth and the laws on piracy are universal.

    WHAT IS NOT ILLEGAL: Streaming a moving from a different region if the law permits it.

    People, this is a great tool, but you need to think. You don’t go around robbing banks in different countries, so this should be no different.

  13. sven. said on December 13, 2011 9:36 pm:

    Lost my account after downloading music… need to find a vpn that will allow me to do this… f$#%

  14. daunte said on December 3, 2011 10:21 am:

    I use the UK server, had changed over from astrill. No real complaints except the server can be slow at times, but with most vpns this is expected. Other than that, it’s been pretty great service.

  15. Gina V. said on November 25, 2011 9:19 pm:

    As a high school student our campus does not allow us to access certain types of sites. I use this to get access to videos and chat with friends. Definitely a cool service to use if you are in a similar problems i.e. hostels, campuses, or anything with net limitations. Big fan of vpns since it allows me to hide my ass! LOL!!!!

  16. cleggster said on November 19, 2011 5:59 am:

    Very impressed with what the service provides. Actually started using Hide My Ass because a friend of mine recommended me to start using it. Totally satisfied with the results and will use it again.

  17. Shae T. said on November 15, 2011 10:53 am:

    THis is a great product, only thing is that I had a few issues at the beginning but the customer service was fast and helpful to get me up and running!

  18. Sally said on November 8, 2011 6:27 pm:

    I’m living abroad and having hide my ass really makes things possible for me. Being able to have a piece of home with me is so worth the cost. Prices are reasonable and the speeds allow me to do things like watch internet tv and everything! Really don’t know what I would do without it now.

  19. Patrick K. said on October 29, 2011 3:13 pm:

    Real great product, the deals are awesome! I just signed up for the 1 year, and am totally confident that it was the right decision. Gaining access to tons of online content as well as securing your identity are definitely worth the price.

  20. Mehta P. said on October 23, 2011 12:41 am:

    If you play online poker or use anything that requires an uninterrupted connection, I would suggest using HMA. Sometimes I need this to connect as you can suddenly get disconnected. Not the best feeling when you’re play with money :(. But Hide My Ass definitely helps to make sure that those issues do not occur. Would definitely recommend it for the quality of service, performance, and price.

  21. Janice D. said on October 19, 2011 3:12 pm:

    I like HMA very much. I give it the thumbs up, it’s very good.

  22. Deanna C. said on September 24, 2011 7:41 pm:

    Just signed up for hide my ass vpn, and have to say that so far the results are awesome! I have no idea what I was doing without this. Now, I don’t have to spend all this extra money on premium cable since I have access Netflix.

  23. Charles E. said on September 12, 2011 1:57 am:

    I’m definitely satisfied with hide my ass. Pricing is ridiculously cheap and the service AND performance are definitely in top form. You have access to all the servers which is very helpful as it allows you to switch around for the fastest speed. I give it 5 out of 5 stars in my book!

  24. zangief2311 said on August 29, 2011 1:17 pm:

    I definitely reccommend this service to anyone that wants to access info abroad. HMA is HMAzing!

  25. Shane said on August 3, 2011 1:01 pm:

    Hide My Ass! Seriously? The name may throw you off, but the service is amazing!

  26. Tiffany L. said on July 29, 2011 6:59 pm:

    I use this in the US to access China content! After a visit with my family, I realized how awesome some of the content is that is not available in the US. I guess that’s the reverse of what most are doing here? LOL!

  27. Karl J. said on July 27, 2011 4:55 pm:

    Hide My Ass offers a really awesome software. Definitely would recommend it to anyone trying to access data from China or US as I travel to both areas and rely on VPN to help me with accessing files. Great product!

  28. Mohit G said on July 18, 2011 1:01 am:

    this is by far the best service. i really like their customer support and total system.

  29. Bruce said on July 5, 2011 11:30 am:

    Having used other VPN services in the past, I can definitely say that Hide My Ass is definitely one of the more reliable VPN providers. It’s probably got one of the easiest softwares to use on the market and definitely is worth it with the price as well. I am not a tech guy, and this was just really easy to use. You get exactly what they say they will give you.

  30. Jen said on June 12, 2011 2:22 pm:

    I have no clue about how the tech works, but it’s so simple that it basically does it for you. HMA is definitely the way to go. Simple to use, and just really affordable!

  31. Sasha said on June 11, 2011 1:21 am:

    Overall satisfied with the way this works. HMA is the way to go for me!

  32. Carey C. said on May 22, 2011 11:40 am:

    Hide My Ass offers a really great value on longer term deals. After using the 1 month deal, I made up my mind and signed up for the year plan. Has a ton of servers in the US, so I can access all that content for free!

  33. Dan K. said on May 16, 2011 8:54 pm:

    I’m a teacher in Asia and definitely miss watching North Ameican TV. Hide My Ass allows me to watch all those great shows I just can’t get while living abroad.

  34. Jenner said on May 12, 2011 7:50 am:

    Overall a great product that’s easy to use. I have been working in China and definitely recommend Hide My Ass (HMA) to anyone worried about “big brother.” I found the service and support to be amazing and have been using them for almost a year now. Definitely one above the rest!

  35. Chase J. said on April 23, 2011 1:33 am:

    Like it’s title, Hide My Ass VPN is straight and to the point. A very fast service with great performance. By far the best I have experienced with little interruption or anything that I can think of. I like this one a lot. Thanks HMA!

  36. Kerry T said on April 12, 2011 2:44 am:

    Fast and easy to use software made HMA my choice above most other VPNs. Set up is absolutely painless!

  37. David J. said on April 2, 2011 10:11 am:

    Quick and easy, like my message! Ha! Thx hma vpn!

  38. Donnie said on March 2, 2011 1:54 am:

    What’s up from Korea! This is definitely the service to use, you can totally check out and access everything that is normally restricted due to regional lock. Totally enjoying HULU and Netflix among other things…. Hide My Ass totally Kicks Some Ass!

  39. Frank Farlady said on January 26, 2011 6:28 am:

    this is excellent service! i wholeheartedly recommend hidemyass for surfing privately in columbia! thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


8 + 3 =