VPN Reviews

Astrill Review – Does It Offer A Reliable VPN Service?

By
Thursday, March 15th, 2012


Astrill is an established service provider in the VPN marketplace. Established in 2009, Astrill is a Seychelles based company that started off as a VPN service for expats and business travelers. Since then, the company has made some rapid strides to become one of the bigger players in the VPN market as far as number of VPN servers is concerned. In this brief Astrill review, we look at the services provided by the company and establish whether it is worth the money.

Choice of Servers

Astrill VPN service has its servers spread across 47 countries around the world. Apart from major countries like United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Germany and Netherlands; Astrill has servers in Russia, China, France, Australia, Spain, Switzerland, Italy, Portugal, Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Luxembourg, Belgium, Austria, Israel, Ireland, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Bulgaria, New Zealand, Japan, Hong Kong, South Korea, Ukraine, Singapore, Czech Republic, Taiwan, Malaysia, Philippines, India, Thailand, Vietnam, Brazil, Panama, Argentina, Lithuania and Egypt. Astrill has 138 servers with more than 48,000 IP addresses at its disposal which gives it a wide geographical footprint. The server switches are offered for free and there is no limit to the number of times you are allowed to change your VPN server.

Speed

Astrill offers good connection speeds with unlimited bandwidth. Since there are no monthly limits, the service is a great choice for uploading, downloading content as well as for streaming movies. The service also supports P2P services which makes it ideal for torrent lovers. The downside is that far too many users have complained about technical issues like “Connection with server is lost” which makes the service somewhat unreliable.

Privacy

Astrill is dedicated to providing a safe and secure browsing environment to its users. The company uses latest security and encryption features in its software and doesn’t keep a record of user activities. This makes it a great choice for bypassing Government and ISP restrictions and accessing blocked websites like Hulu, Facebook, Gmail, Netflix, Pandora etc. However you do need to provide a phone number while signing up so it is not the best choice for someone who is looking to sign up for a VPN service anonymously.

Supported Systems

Astrill supports most widely used protocols such as OpenVPN, OpenWeb, PPTP, L2TP/IPSec and SSTP. This allows you to use the service from a variety of devices such as laptops, tablets and mobiles as well as different operating systems like Windows, Linux, Mac OSX, iOS, Android among others. The Astrill client is easy to install so the service can be used even by those who are tech challenged.

Customer Support

Astrill offers customer support through email, live chat and phone. With the live chat facility is available only during business hours; the ticket based emailing system is the fastest way to get answers to technical and connectivity problems.

Pricing

Astrill offers a 3-month, 6-month and 12-month membership for $29.95, $39.95 and $69.95 respectively. Although they claim to offer discounts through use of Astrill coupon codes, the company does not really offer any. You need to pay extra for a dedicated IP address and for accessing the service through multiple devices. While the price may appear less, the company does require you to sign up for a minimum of 3 months upfront. The company offers a 7 day free trial and has a 7 day refund policy. However the refund is not unconditional and is up to the discretion of the company.

Final Verdict

Astrill is not the best VPN service out there. While the company offers unlimited bandwidth at competitive prices, it is often plagued by connection issues, requires a phone number and quarterly subscription during signup as well as doesn’t offer an unconditional money back guarantee. If you are looking for a totally anonymous and uninterrupted VPN service then Astrill may not be the best choice for you.


March 15, 2012
Comments
  1. Julien said on June 13, 2013 8:26 am:

    I am extremely disappointed by Astrill.
    2 years ago they had a very efficient and responsive customer service but now it is like a very bad joke.
    My password is not available anymore. I wrote a dozen of tickets so far to get it fixed and still haven’t receive ANY answer after waiting the whole day. Too bad my membership is till end August 2013.
    I will never ever subscribe to Astrill anymore. They obviously have considerably lowered their customer service to such an extent that it became completely worthless.

  2. Astrill Sucks said on January 31, 2013 4:09 am:

    This service sucks ass so bad. I have been a user for 2 years. The first year it was great. However, this year the service sucks ass. It breaks down and disconnects after 5~10 minutes of service every time. When you contact their customer service, they don’t have a fix…. worthless company. I will never use them again.

  3. Michael S said on August 22, 2012 4:20 am:

    Astrill service sucks ass. I hate the management, and would never recommend them to anyone. The service has been nothing but unreliable. After a few minutes of use, the service breaks down. When I contact customer service, nobody will respond to me and avoids me. Please do not use this service anyone. You will get royally screwed up the you know what..

  4. Randy G said on July 10, 2012 2:28 am:

    you really need to be careful of the customer service agent that you are looking for. they have two classes, one that is sales and one that is engineering. if you need any technical help, i’d ask right away if they are equipped to answer technical. i wasted about 2 hours of time with a sales techie trying to help me, and then ultimately she said that she didn’t know anything but sales information…

    the service has been ok so far, but that sales agent really pissed me off, and i will prob try hide my ass or purevpn in the future.

  5. Irving J. said on June 18, 2012 12:24 pm:

    This might be the best vpn in China. Have a fewfriends that use it and they get great results. It’s very easy and support is there.

  6. Patrick W. said on June 4, 2012 2:23 pm:

    Was in the middle east and thought it was like being in lower hell. Friend turned me onto astrill and the pain is a little more tolerable. Will be out of here soon!

  7. PC said on May 15, 2012 8:51 am:

    Checked out this site called hulu when was visiting my gf in the states. Saw a much broader range of selection in terms of awesome video streaming sites, and can definitely say that I was hooked. Anyways, when I went back to the Hong Kong, I realized I can’t get the channels on website access. So I looked for a VPN and found out Astrill is good for me. I like it very much so far, I suggest this product if you like the movies too.

  8. Rena said on April 30, 2012 10:55 pm:

    I definitely like Astrill. It was a great experience, and I think that the service was really great. Will use it again for sure.

  9. Chin T. said on April 10, 2012 11:54 am:

    f that jazz, i like this vpn. definitely give me what i need. will start looking once i am no longer content.

  10. mixed feelings said on March 7, 2012 7:56 pm:

    Tried expressvpn and like astrill much more. Service feels easier to use, but the customer service is better with expressvpn.

  11. martin said on February 15, 2012 2:51 pm:

    Reliable service, I just continued my account for one year.

  12. mari said on January 9, 2012 8:26 am:

    This is a good service, but I’m thinking about looking around once i’m done with the service. Does anyone have any suggestions? I hear expressVPN is not bad.

  13. Tyson Brown said on December 11, 2011 2:38 pm:

    I use this to do surveys and access info in the UK. Europe is definitely on a different level…

  14. Gabe Jr. said on November 21, 2011 11:37 pm:

    Pretty clear cut with Astrill. Not sure if I agree with others about the price, but I do like that there is a 7 day free trail.

  15. babak said on October 13, 2011 3:23 pm:

    Yo, the speed is way faster than most. I think this one is good, but I do seem to have experienced block sites.

  16. Courtney M. said on September 1, 2011 10:19 pm:

    I use Astrill all the time and really like the service. I’m living in China now and use it to access my facebook account. It’s definitely great as it allows me to keep in touch with my friends and family.

  17. carly j. said on August 27, 2011 7:48 pm:

    Although I do agree with the above, one thing I must say about Astrill is that it seems not to affect the computer. I just leave it in the background and it really doesn’t bother me. THere are a lot of other vpns that have a ridiculous set up. This one is pretty clean and easy.

  18. Dalton B. said on August 16, 2011 2:58 pm:

    I don’t think there’s any issue with the connection, but what I did notice that’s different about the other services is that Astrill is very, VERY slow with customer service. In a system where there are so many issues that arise, this should be viewed closely. Other than that, I’m pretty satisfied.

  19. Christy said on July 29, 2011 7:49 pm:

    Liked my experience with Astrill, but definitely have to admit that the customer service could use some improvement. I waited forever before they replyed to a question I had.

  20. Mike Mellz said on July 19, 2011 11:56 am:

    This thing sucks, I had to wait like 2 weeks before I got a reply from them. Customer service is just not like what it used to be.

  21. Joyce B. said on June 9, 2011 10:34 pm:

    Special movies huh? well, I’m guessing you are referring to Netflix and stuff like that… ha!

  22. Hilton said on June 7, 2011 5:18 pm:

    I use it to access all my “special” movies given my condition. hehe.

  23. victoria said on May 24, 2011 6:57 pm:

    Use this to access hulu overseas. Miss my tv shows, and astrill let’s me get to it!

  24. Scott said on May 21, 2011 1:54 pm:

    I used the free account and then realized how great this really is. Have been a member for over a year now!

  25. Ada J. said on March 13, 2011 11:24 am:

    I like the use of the software, it’s very good but sometimes experience problems using my skype. Other than that, it’s a great product to use.

  26. dennis said on February 6, 2011 9:24 pm:

    Really a great program to use. Like that it’s easy to use, since I am not really a tech guy. Definitely have suggested Astrill to the rest of my friends living in China that are worried about the government being on their backs.

  27. Anoop Patel said on January 19, 2011 10:42 am:

    Astrill works for me in China. Easy one to use!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


9 + 8 =